Mid-Atlantic

Please note: The Prison Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

New York

  1. Rehabilitation Through the Arts 914-232-7566 or rtatheatre@optonline.net
  2. Voices UnBroken Victoria Sammartino, 718.684.2125, victoria@voicesunbroken.org
  3. The Creative ‘Righting’ Center Long-distance program (see Indiana)
  4. CASES Insight Project Dan Stageman, 212-553-6633, dstageman@cases.org
  5. NY State Literary Center Dale Davis, 585-223-0784, ddavis@nyslc.org
  6. PEN American Center Prison Writing Program prisonwriting@pen.org
  7. Bard Prison Initiative Arts courses
  8. Cornell Prison Education Program Arts courses, Writer’s Bloc Literary Journal
  9. Anne Frank Center USA Prison Diary Program info@annefrank.com
  10. Fortune Society Creative arts for youth and adults in the criminal justice system
  11. Right to Write Mara Gross, 914.395.2573, partnerships@sarahlawrence.edu
  12. Black is the Day, Black is the Night Amy Elkins, amyelkins.photo@gmail.com
  13. Blackout Arts Collective newyork@blackoutartscollective.com 
  14. EarSay 718.791.4324, info@earsay.org
  15. Artistic Noise Vanessa Ruiz, Vanessa.Ruiz@artisticnoise.org
  16. The Art of Living Prison SMART 866-673-8999, prisonsmart@iahv.org 
  17. Avodah Dance Ensemble, dance programming at Bedford Hills CF, avodahdance@gmail.com
  18. Hip Hop Justice Radio 94.9 FM Hudson Valley, NY 
  19. Milk Not Jails (917) 719-MILK, milknotjails@gmail.com 
  20. Theatre of the Oppressed NYC (646) 504-4582, info@theatreoftheoppressednyc.org
  21. RELEASED – Center for Employment Opportunities Jeyhoun Allebaugh, jeyhoun@gmail.com
  22. Carnegie Hall Musical Connections Elizabeth Snodgrass, 212-903-9621, esnodgrass@carnegiehall.org
  23. Theatre-in-Education: Prison Production juliagtaylor@gmail.com 
  24. Public Theatre – The Mobile Unit 212-539-8500, marketing@publictheater.org
  25. New York Writers Coalition (NYWC) – Formerly Incarcerated/Prison Writers Program Nancy Weber, nancy@nywriterscoalition.org
  26. Think Outside the Cell (877) 267-2303, thinkoutsidethecell@verizon.net
  27. The Young New Yorkers Restorative justice through public art
  28. Lyrics from Lockdown National tour of hip hopera
  29. An Open Window Project, Cornell University, Treacy Ziegler, treacyziegler@yahoo.com
  30. The Phoenix Players Theatre Group Bruce Levitt, BAL5@cornell.edu
  31. Attica Correctional Facility – The Attica Writer’s Workshop and the Attica – Genesee Teaching Project Doran Larson, dlarson@hamilton.edu
  32. Truthworker Theatre Company truthworker@gmail.com, 917-771-7475
  33. Music on the Inside Alina Bloomgarden, info@musicontheinside.org, 212-580-6225

Pennsylvania

  1. Mural Arts Program Restorative Justice Robyn Buseman, robyn.buseman@muralarts.org, 215-685-0756
  2. The Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program Steven Shankman, 215-204-5163, insideout@temple.edu
  3. Words Without Walls info@wordswithoutwalls.com
  4. SageWriters Judith Trustone, 610-328-6101, info@Sagewriters.org
  5. The Pennsylvania Prison Society – The Working Group to Enhance Services for Incarcerated Women Ann Schwartzman, 215.564.6005, baizenman@prisonsociety.org
  6. Books Through Bars 215-727-8170, info@booksthroughbars.org
  7. Pennsylvania Horticultural Society Roots to Re-Entry Project
  8. Brush With the Law at Montgomery County Correctional Facility Maria Maneos
  9. The People’s Paper Co-op
  10. Shining Light performing arts, Jeffrey Bohn jeff@shining-light.com

New Jersey

  1. The Institute for Prison Teaching and Outreach Literary Magazine, cpoe@tcnj.edu
  2. Perkins Center for the Arts create@perkinscenter.org
  3. NJ State Prison in Trenton Susanne Pitak Davis, Pitak1@earthlink.net
  4. Writers Theatre of New Jersey education@wtnj.org