Midwest – East North Central

Please note: The Prison Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

Wisconsin

  1. The Shakespeare Prison Project Jonathan Shailor, jonathan.shailor@gmail.com
  2. Oakhill Prison Humanities Project oakhillprisonhumanitiesproject@gmail.com

Michigan

  1. Prison Creative Arts Project (PCAP) Vanessa Mayesky, 734-647-6771, pcapinfo@umich.edu
  2. ARRO Prison Poetry Project Maria, maria@nwlansing.org, 517-999-2895
  3. ACE Academy – Visual Art Classes and Empty Bowls (313) 868-8368, karen-spezia@echalk.aceacademysda.com 
  4. 6 Figures Playback Theatre Company Prison Theatre Program, Dr. Anita
    Rich,  734-487-0797, arich@emich.edu
  5. Project Community 734.764.6324 projectcommunity@umich.edu
  6. Shakespeare Behind Bars, Curt L. Tofteland, curt@shakespearebehindbars.org

Illinois

  1. Storycatchers Theatre Nancy McCarty, 312.280.4772, nmccarty@storycatcherstheatre.org
  2. Framed Concepts savrwrld1@gmail.com
  3. Cradle2Prison Project cradle2prison@gmail.com
  4. Still Point Theatre Collective 773 868 1700, stillpointc@aol.com
  5. Beyondmedia Education – Women and Prison Project 773-857-7300, info@womenandprison.org
  6. FreeWrite Jail Arts + Literacy Program ryan@freewritejailarts.org
  7. Chicago Girl Talk chicagogirltalk@gmail.com
  8. Champaign County Juvenile Detention Center Arts Project Alex Moroz, amoroz08@gmail.com
  9. Tamms Year Ten: Take Photographs for Supermax Prisoners tammsyearten@gmail.com
  10. The Chicago Imagination Project (CHIP) 773-722-7440 ext 3208, chip.marillac@gmail.com
  11. Music Technology at Nancy B. Jefferson Alternative School, Alex Moroz, amoroz08@gmail.com
  12. Write to Release, info@writetorelease.org
  13. Prison + Neighborhood Arts Project contactpnap@gmail.com

Indiana

  1. Shakespeare in Shackles Laura Bates, 812.237.3141, laura.bates@indstate.edu
  2. Sisterhood Christian Drama Ministries
  3. Hanover College summer drama program Paul Hildebrand, hildebrand@hanover.edu
  4. Madison Juvenile Correctional Facility Visual art, yoga, art therapy
  5. Indiana State Prison Poetry, essay contests, book clubs
  6. Poets-Behind-Bars Sponsored by the Creative Righting Center, Sherry Reiter, 718-998-4572, sherryreiter@yahoo.com
  7. WVCF Theatre Troupe Dr. Jacquelyn Frank, 217-581-7843, jbfrank@eiu.edu

Ohio

  1. Reentry Bridge Network
  2. UMOJA Men’s Chorus Catherine Roma, caroma129@gmail.com
  3. Grafton Prison Choir, Jody Kerchner
  4. Toledo Museum of Art partnership with the Lucas County Juvenile Court  Glassblowing & metalwork