Pacific States

Please note: The Prison Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

Alaska

  1. Hiland Mountain Correctional Center Women’s String Orchestra
  2. Wildwood Correctional Center: Ice Sculpture Contest and Crochet Project
  3. Brush with Adventure at Spring Creek Correctional Center

Washington

  1. Gateways for Incarcerated Youth Education & culture, gateways@evergreen.edu
  2. Denney Juvenile Justice Center Poetry and Art Workshop Mindy Hardwick, mindywriter@gmail.com
  3. Keeping the Faith – The Prison Project
  4. Sustainable Prisons Project Science, nature, and horticulture
  5. Yoga Behind Bars Natalie Smith, natalie@yogabehindbars.com
  6. Art Studio Pete Brook, prisonphotography@gmail.com
  7. University Beyond Bars info@universitybeyondbars.org
  8. Pongo Teen Writing Project info@pongoteenwriting.org
  9. Freehold Theatre (206) 323-7499, info@freeholdtheatre.org
  10. Underground Writing Matt Malyon, matt@undergroundwriting.org
  11. Prison Renaissance prisonrenaissance@gmail.com

Oregon

  1. Inside-Out Oregon Academic and arts courses
  2. Eastern Oregon Correctional Institution Creative Arts program, annual Shakespeare production
  3. Center for Intercultural Dialogue – Prisons and Peace Kelley Totten, ktotten@uoregon.edu
  4. Write Around Portland 503.796.9224, info@writearound.org
  5. Project HOPE Peggy Kendellen, pkendellen@racc.org
  6. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  7. Open Hearts Open Minds Dialogue, theater, reentry, stallingsjohnny@gmail.com
  8. The Concertina Wire Radio Program University of Oregon, concertinaradio@gmail.com
  9. Janus Youth Programs Kathleen Fullerton, (503) 982-4454, kathleen.fullerton@oya.state.or.us
  10. Big House Kite (503) 841-8826, phil@bighousekite.org

California

  1. The Art of Yoga Project
  2. InsideOUT Writers Mindy Velasco, Writing Program Director mindy@insideoutwriters.org or info@insideoutwriters.org
  3. Los Angeles Poverty Department 213-413-1077
  4. Poetic Justice Project Deborah Tobola, (805) 264-5463, staff@poeticjusticeproject.org
  5. Rising Voices of Community Works 415-734-2360, community_works@yahoo.com
  6. WritersCorps Melissa.Hung@sfgov.org
  7. Write and Rise Margo Perin, mperin@writeandrise.com
  8. Pelican Bay Speaks pelicanbayspeaks@gmail.com
  9. The Actor’s Gang Prison Project Sabra Williams, prisonproject@theactorsgang.com
  10. The Medea Project
  11. William James Association Prison Arts Project
  12. We Players Alcatraz 2011
  13. Prison University Project Creative performances
  14. Prison Yoga Project James Fox, james@prisonyoga.com
  15. The Knotted Line Evan Bissell, evanbissell@gmail.com
  16. Five Keys Charter School SISTER, Garden Project
  17. GOGI Yoga amy@gettingoutbygoingin.org
  18. Santa Cruz County Inmate Programs M’Liss Keesling, SHF215@co.santa-cruz.ca.us
  19. Brothers in Pen: Wednesday Night Creative Writing Class at San Quentin brothersinpen@yahoo.com
  20. The Roots and Wings Project therootsandwingsproject@gmail.com
  21. Each One Reach One (650) 225-9030, info@eoro.org
  22. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  23. Resolve to Stop the Violence (RSVP), admin@resolvetostoptheviolencesf.org
  24. Prison Library Project Annual Exhibition, Rachel McDonnell, rachel@prisonlibraryproject.org
  25. Jail Guitar Doors Contact@JailGuitarDoors.org
  26. Prisoners Literature Project Prisonlit@gmail.com
  27. Albert Cobarrubias Justice Project – Social Biographies raj@siliconvalleydebug.org
  28. Beyond this Prison beyondthisprison@gmail.com
  29. Give a Beat info@giveabeat.org
  30. Inside the Reels at Vista Jail – Christina Fink, Founder, inside.the.reels@gmail.com
  31. Prison Arts Touching Hearts (P.A.T.H.) Leslie Lakes, prisonartstouchinghearts@gmail.com
  32. Arts for Incarcerated Youth Network (AIYN) (310) 962-6000, info@aiynetwork.org
  33. Prison Renaissance prisonrenaissance@gmail.com

Hawaii

  1. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  2. Learning Center at Halawa Correctional Facility Hawaiian chant and dance, Hawaiian language, music, yoga, meditation
Advertisements