South Atlantic

Please note: The Prison Arts Coalition does not offer any programs. The following are independent prison arts programs we have identified in this region. To learn more about the programs below, please contact the programs directly. 

Delaware

  1. Avodah Dance Ensemble avodahdance@gmail.com
  2. Prison Arts Program Delaware Dept of Corrections

Maryland

  1. Maryland Correctional Institution – Hagerstown (MCI-H) Annual Art Exhibition
  2. Knitting Behind Bars Lynn Zwerling, lynnzwerling@verizon.net
  3. ReWired for Change dweckesser@rewiredforchange.org, 410-528-9058
  4. Artivate Claire Schwadron, 301-608-9103, claire@classactsarts.org
  5. Carpe Diem Arts, Busy Graham, busygraham@gmail.com
  6. Goucher Prison Education Partnership  amy.roza@goucher.edu
     

Washington, D.C.

  1. Free Minds Book Club (202) 758-0829, mail@freemindsbookclub.org
  2. Prison Fellowship International International art competitions and exhibitions
  3. Safe Streets Arts Foundation Dennis Sobin, dennis@safestreetsarts.org
  4. Prisons Foundation Dennis Sobin, Dennis@prisonsfoundation.org
  5. Blackout Arts Collective dc@blackoutartscollective.com
  6. The Beat Within  David Inocencio, dinocencio@thebeatwithin.org, (415) 503-4170
  7. Voices Unbarred VoicesUnbarred@gmail.com, (571) 357-2049
  8. Georgetown Prison Scholars Program prisonandjustice@georgetown.edu

Virginia

  1. Art program at Albemarle-Charlottesville Regional Jail
  2. Prison Theatre Workshop course Betsy Rudelich Tucker, art9y@virginia.edu
  3. The Messages Project list@themessagesproject.org
  4. Visual Art at Wallens Ridge State Prison
  5. Open Minds dcoogan@vcu.edu

West Virginia

  1. Giving Back with Heart Prisoner Art Auction

North Carolina

  1. North Carolina Division of Prisons Annual Creative Writing Contest, Annual Inmate Art Show
  2. Creative Writing: Joseph Bathanti, Poet Laureate of NC, teaches writing in prisons, 828-262-2337, bathantjr@appstate.edu
  3. Internationalist Prison Books Collective prisonbooks@gmail.com
  4. Art class at Nash Correctional Institution
  5. Hidden Voices Lynden Harris, lharris@hiddenvoices.org
  6. Working Narratives info@workingnarratives.org
  7. Art program at Avery Mitchell CI in Spruce Pine sarahroselejeune@gmail.com
  8. Jail Arts Initiative in Charlotte-Mecklenburg, annabelmanning@gmail.com
  9. Inside Out at Warren Wilson Contact through this form
  10. Chatham YDC String Ensemble bsuhler@uncg.org

South Carolina

1. Spartanburg County Detention Center Therapeutic arts programming, Deputy Robert Duclos, Programs Coordinator, 864-596-2607, ext. 115 and rduclos@spartanburgcounty.org

Georgia

  1. Reforming Arts  Wende Ballew, reformingarts@gmail.com
  2. Blackout Arts Collective atlanta@blackoutartscollective.com
  3. The Prison Sketchbook Project

Florida

  1. ArtSpring Leslie Neal, artspring@artspring.org
  2. Art Program at Everglades Correctional Institute, Alejandra Chirinos, alechiri93@hotmail.com
  3. Exchange for Change